Australian Technologies Curriculum

One of the projects which I have been working on is a website in order to provide teachers with ideas in relation to teaching the Australian Curriculum. Currently it is in draft format and I have only covered Year 3 and 4. I have started Year 5 and 6.
I came across the video below which is a project (based in New York) designed to engage students in technologies. These are the types of lessons I believe we should be aspiring to integrate within our programs. This is how we should be teaching.

Welcome to the Makery from John Des Roches on Vimeo.

3 comments

  1. Wow how exciting. I will be doing some more researching on the Makery. If you need some one to help trial any of the draft projects I am teaching year 4 .

  2. Hi Joanne
    I am wondering when we get to view the draft version of the DETs site that will provide resources and ideas to teachers.
    Are we able to trial it as I know myself and Steph. would be interested.
    Of is that a no no?

    • You can view the technologies curriculum by following this LINK. There is no official site which provides resources for teachers for technologies. I have used my own initiative and created one. It is currently in draft version and I am currently sharing my ideas with others. Please note, my ideas on how to teach the technologies curriculum are based on my own interpretation and ideas. They have not been endorsed by the Australian Curriculum board nor presented yet (I aim to). To the best of my knowledge, no one has started or is sharing what I currently am working on. Here is the link to my work in progress, it is currently free and I am open to criticism of my work. This is my passion. http://technologiesjvillis.weebly.com/ I am currently working on Year 5 and 6 resources.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *