How might you get students to learn the periodic table?

Richard Byrne just blogged ‘The Periodic Table in Pictures and Words‘ , Free Technology for Teachers. This sparked me to share a somewhat annoying video resource from a parents point of view, but from an educators view a catchy way to get students to learn the periodic table.

My two children, aged 16 and 10 sing this until it annoys me so much that I ask them to stop. Sydney (aged 10) explains why she likes this: ‘It has a catchy tune. I learnt it because my friend at school mentioned it. When I sang it to my bro he was so jealous, because I knew more than him’.

In her brother’s defence, he is learning the ABC aerobics (Why?  Who knows the motivation) but he is up to the letter L.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *