App design and development: Success with students (secondary)

Previously I blogged about ‘Creating apps for free with AppLab‘ and wrote that my next step for students, was to  create their own digital solution (app) for a particular purpose and that I’d post examples once I’d trialed this in class. Well I have, and it was successful.

Students were given a very board scope for creating their app. They were asked to think of any problem or learning task students or members of the community might have, and design an app to help them. For the design process, we used paper proto-typing and for the development process we used AppLab. Ideas and levels of app design/development were varied. Below are some examples in no particular order. I have also uploaded an assessment rubric at the bottom of this blog which I used.








Final app design assessment rubric JVilis-1rb8pka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *