Divide it up: puppies iPad App

CaptureI am not sure when or how I discovered this app. Today I found it in one of my ‘to sort’ folders on my iPad. Divide it up: Puppies is a free iPad app which has been designed to help students visualise division. Students are initially given a worded problem and asked to predict an answer. For example, there are 33 toys to share among 6 puppies. How many toys do you think each puppy will get? They are then given the opportunity to test their prediction by sorting the objects between the puppies.
CaptureThe next stage is for students to identify how may are left over (the remainder). What I really like about this app, is that it then takes the problem one step further. The app will then present the worded problem mathematically using digits and symbols.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *